History & Establishment


Educational records of the Hillsboro community report that the first educational facility in Montgomery County was established as the Hillsboro Academy in 1837 in Hillsboro. In the 1840s, the Academy became the first Lutheran College in Illinois. Historical reports indicate that “. . . ultimately Illinois State University and Carthage College evolved from this college . . ." when the college was moved to Springfield in 1852.


In 1954 this commitment exhibited by leaders from Hillsboro and its surrounding communities brought about the creation of an outstanding Community Unit School District, comprised of the following:
  • Butler
  • Coffeen
  • Donnellson
  • Irving
  • Panama
  • Schram City
  • Taylor Springs
  • Other rural areas